Posts

Showing posts from March, 2025

Failing Feelings

 Feelings of failure.  Sounds crazy.  Not my fault this is happening, but I am feeling like I'm the failure. Worried about my appointment in the morning. It's not the big deal.  I'm afraid of letting my emotions get the better of me. Feelings.  Why did I have to get so many of them?   Sigh.  

Feeling a bit used

About a month ago, the diva had an incident with the lurker.  They were asked to document other incidents and the diva had sent me a copy.  I scanned it.  It was small print but I thought wow.  She really documented in a whole chart. I printed it up to take a closer look tonight and I was bothered by what I read.  I only skimmed it on my phone but looking at it on page in front of me in bigger print was a whole different story.  Crazy story telling and my name is in there.  I thought don't speak for me, diva!  Keep my name out of your mouth!  Sigh.  I feel used for some strange reason.  Used me for learning the basic and now I've been kicked to the curb.  This is familiar territory.   Usually when people say I can't stand drama, they love it.  They're the ones starting it.   This is why I have walls up and I don't want to have walls up.  I kind of thought maybe this is someone that I can be friendl...

Rainy Sunday, Video Games and Trouble Makers

I obviously didn't go for a walk. I thought it would let up.  I was wrong.  Once I got back to my car after I finished at Target, I sat there and played video games while it thundered and pray that lightning doesn't strike my car.  Just what I needed. I got Charlotte a little gift card for Easter.  I probably got too much but that's what grande aunties are supposed to do.  Hopefully her mom doesn't think I went overboard because well, I know I did.  It was for only $10 to add the barrage of other goodies I have waiting to package up and mail for her.  Yeah. I went overboard. I played video games in my car while the rain kept pounding down.  It was just kind of nice to take a minute and not have to worry about anything. I saw that the 4 amendments that Louisiana voters all got struck down.  That is amazing.  I'm maybe feeling a little hopeful after reading about that.  Wishing for good things on April 1st. I don't know why people hav...

Trying to Keep Busy

It's not working too well, but I'm trying.  Yesterday, we had some misadventures in recycling.  My mom had wanted to get rid of the two TVs that we had that died on us as well as some other electronics like the printer she had for years that stopped working.  We had asked the landlord and he said he would, but well, he would promise us a unicorn, depending on his mood.  We kind of figured that wasn't going to happen and as it was, the recycling center or Best Buy was going to charge for the TVs.  My mom said she would pay and it would have been awkward if our landlord took them and got charged.  Our recycling center was the best bet so we went there and it had been a few years since I took anything down there.  I wasn't sure how or what we should do so I pulled up and asked questions.  My mom has some hearing issues so I had to explain it to her after I pulled into a parking spot.  This is where we have communication issues.  Something l...

How to Drive Yourself Crazy

I am finding out the ways I can drive myself crazy until April 8th.  Sigh.  I wish I could have gotten an appointment next week but I get it.  The waiting game is torture.  I go through moments where I feel like it'll be ok and you know, I'll tackle the bills one step at a time.  Then the next minute, I am just damn scared and I don't know how to help myself with it. At least I have a little time off next week.  Granted, there's doctor appointments, one for mom and one for me.  I hope my mom's eye doctor appointment goes well.  I'm happy to get her stocked up on eye vitamins. I don't care what people say about the vitamins.  If it keeps it from getting worse, I'll keep her stocked up. I'll probably burst out into tears for both appointments I have in the next couple of weeks and feel like a failure.  I told Corinne I'm a shoo in for the anxiety meds.  What a time for me to misplace a damn prescription bottle. I figured I'd be fine u...

Feeling Like I'm going to die

This is one of the many stages I am going through in the waiting game.  I couldn't make it to the 10 year mark. Sigh.  I am struggling tonight with emotions.   My mom keeps bringing up the landlord and his big woe is me problems.  Yeah. I know.  I don't want to hear about him.  I'm upset she had to go through this 10 years ago.  I'm upset that she had to get scared by it 6 years ago.  She shouldn't have to go through it again.  I'm trying not to be too upset because I don't want her to cry. I read that lonely people have a shorter lifespan and I wondered the first time if this was maybe a sign I wasn't meant to have a long life.  I am feeling that way right now. I need a hug.  I need to hear it's going to be ok.  This is what I deal with. These are normal feelings.  I have been made to feel like a crazy person.  I wouldn't ask anyone to walk in my shoes but if they dealt with what I did, they would realize its no...

Approach or Not to Approach

I got told more than once I'm not approachable.  I hate that.  I probably do give off that vibe and I don't mean to give off that vibe.  I think I've had my lifetime of crazies that the walls seem higher than they should be. I think what's the best way to approach me for a question, or a hello or to strike up a conversation is to smile and say something funny. The people who have disarmed with humor are going to get a big smile.  Usually my mind is drifting into several places and the best way to approach is with humor.  I like the unexpected when it makes me laugh. My mom had encouraged me to send my cousin the post that my landlord made about being depressed and my cousin is aware of what's happening with me.  I happened to be standing in Wal-Mart, doing some Shopkicking and I got a message from her.  I dropped a bottle of Lysol on the floor and started laughing.  No worries.  It was plastic.  It was kind of unexpected and really welco...

Role Model for the Insane

This should be titled all of the stupid stuff people said when I went through cancer treatment.  I had to suppress a lot because well, I don't have bail money. My whole thing was I want to go about my day, do my job and then go for treatment.  I wanted to feel normal.  I wanted to forget and I thought just burying myself in work would help.  Too bad nobody got the memo on acting normal around me. Exhibit A - Lois.  Oh, we're going to go there.  Lois will huff and puff and snap you like a twig.  There's a cowardly side to her as well.    I took shorter lunches and maybe tried to get myself into work a few minutes earlier each day to hit the ground running with my shorter schedule.  I had gotten a message one day from Lois about something I was working on and then she said at one point, "You know, if you want to talk about what you're going through, you can talk.  You don't have to keep everything to yourself." I knew her.  She w...

Five Stages of Fear - Sadness, Sadness, you get the point

 Now it's kind of moved onto acceptance. I struggled yesterday with crying but by afternoon I moved onto the acceptance stage.  I kind of moved onto the well, I'll probably have to have another biopsy.  If there's something there, then maybe it'll be another lumpectomy and I can schedule it for when my sister and brother in-law are here.  Not that it sounds like a great time but at least I don't have to worry about being a burden to others. Now I'm just sad.   I was able to pay a little extra on my debt this last month and felt good.  I have paid off 11.21% of my debt.  Now I know I'll at least be paying $1200 for my deductible plus more to come.  I know they take payments but still. There's the issue of whether my landlord wants to sell this duplex.  What will happen then?  You know he has no idea of how hard life can be.  Maybe it would be a good thing.  I don't know. I had told Corinne about what happened with Cassie an...

Here goes the waiting game

So I waited this morning and got my phone call.  Can't do anything until April 8th.  I'll be driving out to their other hospital for another screening and ultrasound.  So the fun begins with the wait game.  I got the consoling voice on the phone when I said I knew it was them.  Sigh. I told my mom I thought things would be better after I went through it the first time.  People left and well good riddance.  I've been worried about our landlord possibly selling the duplex and after reading about how hard his life is?  I want to scream. I finally have a little money in my checking and now it's going for medical.  Great quality of life.  I hope they take payments.  Everyone keeps taking from me. You know, there wasn't love lost when my ex left me and got married.  It's the How come he gets to find his true love and I don't?  How come he lies and does bad things and finds his true love?  I did so much for this person who w...

Blindsided - got my report

I'm getting a call probably tomorrow morning.  I saw my report.   Looks like I'll be getting an ultrasound.   I'm so heartbroken. I thought I was going to be ok.  Maybe I am but right now, I feel really sad.

How Hard Life Is

So yeah.  Landlord is on vacation and we got a yard full of you know what.  I found his social media page and he posted  Why?  Not smart to do that at any time, but oh well.  That's him. It was what he said that made me mad about how hard his life was and how he embraces it.  Last week he accused me of clogging up the bath tub with kitty litter and made me cry.  No, you don't have it hard.  You have no idea what hard means, you spoiled brat!  Give me a break.  I had to use the kitchen sink to wash up each other for about 3 nights in a row.  Not fun shaving your legs on a kitchen chair.  I made it work, but I get how hard life is.   Typical.  This is what Lois would do to me with her vacations.  Stress me out, call me names, make me cry and go on vacation.  Then she would take about how stressed her life was.  Poor lady living in a nice house in a nice area of Milwaukee County.  She told me onc...

And why do I feel like I'm invisible? Here's an example!

 I was feeling kind of guilty for how I felt about this person.  I had spent my time working with them and getting them familiar with what we do every day and I was growing weary of the impatience and the I don't want to work with this person or that person.  I was feeling like they were a spoiled brat and then they helped me.  That made me feel like a jerk. I got over it.  This is something all too familiar.  I got asked a question and I made a suggestion to reach out to the person who put the work out. I thought it was a good way for them to get clarity.  I wasn't sure because there's all these rules and different ways for each area that we deal with so I thought go to the source.   I was met with silence.  Then I see a message in another chat asking a bigger group the same question.  Nobody had an answer.  She was going to reach out to a higher up but finally figured it out on her own. No message saying thanks, or I think I'...

What to do with a Tuesday

Just glad it's not a Monday.  I felt so horribly blue yesterday morning.  I didn't get any ugly messages so I don't know why I felt down.  Just in my feelings.  As usual. When you work alone, you get more time to think and that's not always a good thing.  Gawd no, I never want to work back in an office again or my head would explode.  I don't miss it at all.  I know some days I spend too much time reflecting on things that weren't so great.  Or my own situation.   We figured out last night if it's possible for us to stay with a slight increase if he sells, we can make it work.  We're amazed by the bathtub and even if he has no intention of putting up more lights in the hallway, my brother in-law will happily help when he's here in another month and a half.  We'll figure it out.  We always do. We kind of figure that we might not see the landlord this week if he's vacationing on spring break.  Yeah, I'm still wishing fo...

Know Your Audience

Someone mentioned online that a person was out because they were out on spring break with their family.  I suspect my landlord is on vacation this week as well.  Ok, here's the bad thought that I had and shared with my mom. I told her I hope he gets the shits on his vacation.  I don't wish harm.  Nothing wrong with hanging out in the bathroom, but I hope for a gastrointestinal disorder to tie him up in one room.  It's a curable thing.  I do kind of wish for the toilet to be a little faulty too.  Am I going too far?  Yeah.  Frick used to wish for people to die in an airplane crash. I just wish for diarrhea.  Or erectile dysfunction. When I started working with Barry years ago, he would check his email on vacation and respond.  I knew he was going on a Disney cruise with his girls and I said why are you checking email?  Enjoy your family for crying out loud.  So I started sending him some obnoxious emails to prevent him from...

Done with Divas

I have a feeling I'm going to have a snotty message waiting for me when I sign in.  I. DON'T. CARE.   I spent the weekend trying to reassure my mom, who is at the age where she shouldn't have to worry about where we're going to live, that we're going to be ok.  Do I know that we are?  No.  Not really.  I hate that she's worried. I don't know what to say after we got dropped that bombshell last week. So do I give a flying fig if someone doesn't want to work on something because the attorney requesting it hurt their little feelings?  No.  I don't care.  I get my feelings hurt too.  That's what Excedrin and ice cream are for.  You can make faces at the screen and nobody sees you anymore because we're at home so go boo hoo somewhere else. I went to bed a little bit early because I did feel overwhelmed by my mom feeling insecure and I felt I was to blame.  Maybe if I saved more, I should have gotten a house.  It was the co...

Duck the Rain

I feel better getting my walk in and glad we didn't go anywhere this afternoon.  Looks kind of gross out. I started listening to a book called Ghosted by Nancy French who was a ghost writer for books, namely a lot of conservative people and well, got ghosted by the conservative party.  I couldn't remember why I downloaded.  It's been out for almost a year.  I cancelled my Audible subscription.  Give me another 99 cent deal and I'll be back. Curious to see or maybe not curious to see the message that awaits me from our new individual that is worrying me a bit with their demands. I sent out a message for help and she offered.  I don't think they'll like the assignments that need to be worked on.  I'm growing very tired of spoiled behavior.  I just can't this week.  To women that got to pout and stomp their feet because they don't get their little way?  Buzz off. I don't care.  Go to Romper Room with that crap.  I'm too old for it...

New Day New Start

Well I feel ok.  I don't feel like bursting into tears this morning so that's good.  Friday was Corinne's birthday and she was happy with her little trinkets. I sent her a Jasmine Crockett refrigerator magnet and a Zelensky pin.  Can never go wrong with her and Zelensky. I know she loves Jasmine Crockett.  I figured she needed a little hope reminder.  We all do.  I didn't tell her my anxiety about the living situation.  I don't want her to worry.  Or drive her away. I don't think it would but I have been down this road too many other people that I'm just down with keeping it bottled up.  I'm thankful for her friendship and she does do an excellent job at making me laugh on days I don't feel like it.   Laughter is the best key with me and making me feel better.  I love to laugh, especially when I don't expect it from someone like in Corinne's case. I always knew she was funny when we worked together but now it's like damn. ...

Just Feeling Sad

I kind of go through little crying fits where I think I'm ok and then I just start. I am sad.  I thought maybe we would get a break once the monster left. I guess we're next. My mom said the monster would have a good laugh. I told her forget him.  His new neighbors are probably out calling the city on him.  He's a mess. The era of screwing over people is trending thanks to this last election.  It's ok to blindside people. I just want a home where I feel safe.  Is that too much to ask? I guess it is. If the universe is listening, I could use a sign. I think I'm going to cry again.  This is just this awful trying to get through the day and not dwell.  It's not working so well.  I feel so bad and so sad right now. I feel like such a loser that I may not have a decent place to live in the future.  My mom shouldn't have to worry about this either.   

If You Have to Say You're a Christian, You Might Not be one

I don't understand it when people announce that they're a Christian.  I like Beyonce.  Should I announce that?  Good for anyone who takes their faith seriously.  As Wynonna Ryder said in "Reality Bites" I'm a non-practicing Catholic.  I'm not opposed to church or religion.  I have a problem with hypocrisy hiding behind religion. This morning, my mom insisted I get bifocals to remind me I'm 156 years old from America's Best so I did.  While I was waiting, I remembered that there was Ring camera footage from when our landlord showed the building to the young woman that works at a faith based organization that helps people have a home on the north side. I wanted to see if I could hear anything.  Yes, judge me.  They were in the basement and I was curious to hear if he had anything to say about us. I couldn't make out a lot but I wasn't real happy at the evasiveness with answers. I think this person who came to see our place is probably a nice yo...

Turn of Events

Well looks like we'll be back driving around again to find some place that isn't full of bugs or psychos.  Sounds like a great time, doesn't it? I was just hoping for some time but I guess it's never the right time.  I'm not sure what the landlord's plans are anymore.  I know we're not getting a storage locker built. I know we're not extra lights in the hallway.  We're not getting anything except the shaft. I don't know what to do.  I went to bed earlier because that's what someone who's depressed does.  We want to go back to sleep and forget what's happening.  We did drive around to a neighborhood not too far from us.  We know we'll have to go smaller with a four family but it'll probably be easier on us in the long run.  The bad part is that they want extra money for a cat each month which I could live with plus like $150 deposit.   I looked at the landlord's wife website and her mission statement.  She didn't feel f...

Cat in a Bathtub

I hate that bath tub but I was never so happy to see Precious in it this morning liking the geriatric faucet.  It's actually running a lot better and last night it drained by the time I got myself dressed and ready for bed.  I know things will change because the tub is older but that plumber did a much better job than we have had in the past. I have no idea what we should do regarding our living circumstances. I had hoped that we bought ourselves maybe a year?  He had told us Oh, he'll put in more lights in the basement.  He'll build us a storage locker.  That doesn't seem to be happening.  Unless magic occurs before May, we'll have my brother in-law put in some lights when he's here.  If we can move, well, let's hope for the best and maybe my sister and brother in-law can help us get more settled if we can get something for May.  I doubt we will but we got to stay proactive.  We have been blindsided and after last night, we know he might sel...

No Good Really Bad Terrible Week

 It can end now. I have water again.  Bath tub is working.  Still a drip but at this point I DON'T CARE.  I shaved my legs in the kitchen.  I am grossed out by that saying out loud.   The plumber came back and worked on it.  He explained the old pipes and how this house has shifted and that more work needs to be done.  Oh, so you don't say?  It's not my cat putting litter in the bath tub.  We asked him if we would tell our landlord.  He was pretty decent and said he'd talk to him and has talked to him about it.  It was built in 1926.  What do you expect? I got rather cold text messages this morning about when the plumber would be here and just said Thank you.  I will let him in.  I knew he was mad at what I did last night.  It was too much.  We tried to tell him and he wouldn't listen and I didn't know what to say other than Sorry to bother you.  Lo and behold, I get a friendly call that he ha...

It's Never fun being treated like you're the trash

So yeah, I shaved my legs in the kitchen last night and I think I did a better job than I normally did.  This sucks.  I actually wiped the shaving cream off the razor off the napkin because I didn't want to do anything to mess with the kitchen sink.  It's a little bit of foam and I'm paranoid that I'll get blamed for something else.  Did I say this sucks already?  It does. I feel so horrible about Precious and how she's getting blamed.  She's howling and doesn't understand why we blocked the bathroom off from her.  It looks like there's some type of black sludge or sewer water.  We tried to explain it to him and now he just condescends to us. I didn't know what to say other than to hang up. I don't want to dislike him.  I actually was feeling ok about him and enjoying his company.  He does that condescending thing and he's blaming me because I'm the one that did it for some reason.  I knew early on when we moved in and had problems ...

Yep. Still Don't Count

So we're being accused of putting kitty litter in the tub and clogging it.  That doesn't feel upsetting at all. We have a bathroom sink which is maybe not working the greatest.  I was going to set myself up with a spa routine somehow someway with our limited resources. I got a text 15 minutes in advance that he was coming with the plumber.  He also came with his family.  We saw the Mrs. on the Ring camera looking at our stuff.   He treated me like I was a criminal and that it was the cat's fault.  He has to do something in the ceiling with the pipes and take care of it.   Later, the sludge started coming up and my mom panicked. I sent a text message and he called.  He started with the man splaining and my mom said I can't talk to him.  He still kept saying I told you that it would drain slowly.  Well we told him that it was coming up and we didn't do anything but don't listen to us.  I just said sorry to bother you and hit...

Well It's My Monday

At least it's only 3 days this week.  I think after the last 2 days, this might be a welcome change.  So much for relaxing on a couple of days off.  Granted, some of it was medical but still, that took like less than 15 minutes, maybe?   It's not a lot of fun taking a sponge bath.  It's not a lot of fun being left in the dark as to what is happening.  Even if the landlord would have said, Hey, I can't get someone in until Friday, it would be ok.  That sucks.  At least there's a plan.  I think he's avoiding because he doesn't know what to do. He offered to replace the bathtub a couple of years ago and we hesitated because of the mess.  We weren't attached to it but we figured it would be a hassle.  When the dripping started six months later, he said that would cost too much.  What happened in the last six months? His wife's fitness apparel line.  I made the mistake of looking at their social media page last night and i...

Episode #357 of I Don't Count Show

Today I heard nothing about a plumber coming in.  I thought I would have gotten a text maybe first thing in the morning since I didn't hear anything at all last night.  Nope.  Nothing.  Nada.  I stayed put. I didn't want to take off and have my mom be alone if the plumber showed up so I watched some TV and just waited. Until about 1.  I just went and mailed my postcards for the election and went to a couple of stores in the area.  I was going to hit Aldis but my mom called and told me the landlord was here.  I thought he was in our apartment but he wasn't.  He was in the downstairs apartment which was fine.  We figured he would come up at some point and maybe give us an idea of when a plumber would come. He left after a few hours.  We didn't hear a word.  Tonight, I got to wash up in the kitchen area.  I have no bath. I have no bathroom sink that is functioning.  I basically got to get a bucket of water and wash up in...

Waiting Kind of Sucks

It' snot about my test results that are making me mad.  It's the thing with the plumber.  Not a lot of fun cleaning up in the kitchen area.  I normally take a bathe every night and I just cleaned up last night, changed for bed and went to sleep.  It's the rare occasion that I have skipped one and I don't want a repeat tonight.   I got a feeling it might be another night.  I have heard nothing from the landlord.  I have a feeling he'll show up or the plumber will show up unexpected.  It's not our fault that this happened. He offered to replace the bath tub and then when we asked when we had problems with clogging it he cried hard up financially. We backed off and six months later we got a big rent increase.   The next time I have off I'll be dealing with medical again with my mom and myself with our appointments. I know I got plenty of time to take off and have a free day.  It would have been nice if today was one of those free ...

Still Waiting and Not Feeling Great

I don't know if things changed. I get it.  Two years ago, I had my screening and I saw that I had the email results within a few hours. I was kind of thrown but relieved.  The next year I got anxious and kept checking my email and I had the results by late afternoon. No email as of now and I'm not feeling ok. I felt ok like everything was status quo.  I don't know if their process changed.  A letter was mentioned and I would know in a few days. I would like to think that if I need a callback it's by tomorrow morning.   It just sucks that there's no email.  The panic is setting in and it's a really horrible feeling. I've been dragged to hell once.  I don't want to make a return visit. Today, I upset my mom and overwhelmed her by texting our landlord about our bath tub and bathroom sink.  We are supposed to have a plumber tomorrow.  He actually seemed to think it was something we did. I don't bathe in sludge, dude.  This bath tub is f...

And the Wait Game begins

 Just got done with screening. This is one time that I am ok with not getting a phone 📞 call. Email or letter work for me.  Let's hope all my calls are spam risk. 

To Be Loved

All is quiet here this afternoon.  We went grocery shopping and now the two senior citizens are sleeping.  Mom and Precious.  The sun has come out and it looks like it's just a more promising day.   I have a little bit of the Sunday scaries but not for the usual reason.  Hell, I get it before going to the dentist.  A simple cleaning may find I need a crown and what does a crown cost?  Money.   People have lists of what they want to do after they go through a health issue like they want to travel Europe or take more chances, like jumping out of an airplane.  Me?  I had one simple wish.  I wanted to have someone who loved me.  I wanted to feel love. I forced love in my last relationship because I thought a clock was ticking and this was my last chance.  I won't say cancer was the best thing that ever happened to me but it sure gave me a slap in the face to not accept being second or third best.  I kept accepti...

Wild Weather Sunday

Safe to say I'll be back to the winter coat today with the snow.  Crazy I didn't need a jacket and felt too warm.  This must be March where one day it's 72 degrees and the next it's a winter storm.  This looks tolerable.  I think.  At least the snow isn't sticking.   My mom was looking up people she knew on Facebook. She grew up in a small town and well she found out how small the minds are with their Facebook pages.  I said that site has become a dumpster fire of hatred and racism.  If it wasn't for my niece posting pictures of Charlotte, I might even dump it.  It just seems like it's become a hotbed of problems.  I seem to keep having conservative pages pop up on my feed too.  I'm onto you Zuckerburg, you big weirdo. I watched a movie about Helen Reddy last night.  I did not know she was Australian.  I am finding myself digging more through streaming to see what I've been missing since I was lost in the world of bei...

I Think I was on a roll - Maybe Not

My mom was nice enough to order me two pajama sets from Kohls.  I hadn't thought much about the ones that I had but yes, they were too small and well like me, getting old.  Sigh.  I knew there was one that was at least 10 years old.  They were kind of my favorite comfort ones.  No, not a Fetterman type pjs.   They were nice and feminine and just comfortable.  I only picked up one and didn't see the second email had come.  She told me I told you and you just didn't listen.  What's new?  I thought I knew what I was doing and welp.  No.  Back to Point Loomis in the morning.  My fault. I take credit for it. I thought I had gotten her Kohls card situation straightened out and it made me want to punch a wall.  They wanted to send me a code and they couldn't send me a code.  What in the world?  I signed into her email account to forward the other Kohls email for pick up and what do I see?  An email that a...

What's Hot and What's Not

Last night, I said something to my mom that I didn't think I'd have to say when she asked me if Denise Richards was a Republican.  I met it with a question.  I said Why do you ask?  She mentioned that Denise Richards said she did more conservative movies.  I said no, she means she doesn't do movies where she's naked or making out with Neve Campbell. Yeah.  That wasn't a weird moment.   I did see the movie Wild Things years ago.  I'm not admitting that to my mom.  No way.  Can't make me.  Like Magic Mike, I didn't get the big whoop about it either.  Something to be said about a threesome.  Kind of feels like someone would get left out and in my situation, I know that would be me.  I did fall asleep during Magic Mike. I thought it was supposed to be a comedy.  I was wrong. Have my eyes ever been glued to the screen during a hot love scene?  Yeah.  It would be Season 1 of the Leftovers with Justin Theroux ...

Confusing New World

My mom is up too early for me.  She's talking about the news, what she sees on Facebook and I'm like go back to sleep, ma'am.  First up.  The news sucks.  When Lawrence O'Donnell needs a break from this insanity, what does that say?  And Facebook has become the new social media app for racists and white supremacists.  Don't even look at it.  I send Corinne memes if I come across one.  Otherwise, forget it. I know what Republicans say about Democrats because I was a minority of that group when I started this job.  I saw Ronald Reagan calendars and George W. Bush dolls and thought, well, I'm trouble. I listened to a managing attorney call us snowflakes and people mention the war on Christmas.  I've been preparing for this new world for years.  How did I manage?  Deflect and avoid.  It's not something people should talk about in the workplace and yet, it happened.  It got better over time as people left and new people ca...

Memories of a Soul Crusher

I am not ready for warmer weather.  I know I won't lose 20 pounds before summer.  I am not ready for warmer clothes now.  I feel so funny and yet I didn't wear my John Fetterman hoodie when we went to the store tonight. I was dressed like a burglar in all black.  Much better.  Not.   I had gotten the shirts I ordered from Penneys and they're actually nice.  The fabric seems to have this sweat protectant feel.  I can't think of the word but I put the black one on because it seemed way cooler.  I realized I was a little too matchy matchy with my black capri pants.  Sweats but they seem more jauntier, I guess. I thought of my Aunt Julie today and how she played us regarding my dad's headstone.  She was the person who told me off as a kid.  I was so excited to have Aunt Julie return after her first visit.  She was such fun and my mom's side of the family was more reserved.  It was the second visit that didn't go so w...