If You Have to Say You're a Christian, You Might Not be one

I don't understand it when people announce that they're a Christian.  I like Beyonce.  Should I announce that?  Good for anyone who takes their faith seriously.  As Wynonna Ryder said in "Reality Bites" I'm a non-practicing Catholic.  I'm not opposed to church or religion.  I have a problem with hypocrisy hiding behind religion.

This morning, my mom insisted I get bifocals to remind me I'm 156 years old from America's Best so I did.  While I was waiting, I remembered that there was Ring camera footage from when our landlord showed the building to the young woman that works at a faith based organization that helps people have a home on the north side.

I wanted to see if I could hear anything.  Yes, judge me.  They were in the basement and I was curious to hear if he had anything to say about us. I couldn't make out a lot but I wasn't real happy at the evasiveness with answers.

I think this person who came to see our place is probably a nice young woman.  She helps people who are down on their luck.  I thought she had the loveliest smile and I would probably like to have this young woman and even a friend of hers as neighbors.  There was something genuine that came across.  

It was the answers she was given that made me disgusted, like he didn't know how old the building and was evasive about how much the utilities cost.  He was evasive on how much we pay for rent and actually lied, gave her a higher number.  

The part that really bothered was hearing that God talks to him every day.  He was really hoping he could sell this place to her.  What a phony.  There is so much wrong here.  We don't have outlets in the bathroom. If I want to dry my hair?  I got to use an outlet in my room.  The garage has a window that needs fixing and the roof leaks.  The lighting is horrible in the basement.  The wiring is probably messed up and messed up more thanks to the monster.  There was such an insincerity that I heard it made me sick.

He acted indifferent when the monster called us "cunts"  I am spelling the word out because it was an ugly thing for a man to yell.  He also used the "f" word as an adjective when he said that word.  If God talks to you?  He would have told you to tell that monster to leave.  I doubt God said keep collecting the money and ignore it.   Meanwhile, we're scared to leave our own apartment and have been at times.  That's very Christian-like to watch out for those who might be afraid.  

This is my thing - practice what you preach.  Words are words.  It means nothing if you don't act on it.  All I saw from the footage was acting. I sold shoes.  I know a con artist when I see one. 

My mom is convinced we're getting evicted soon.  Sigh.  I don't know what to think.  We drove around and well, not a surprise to see a For Rent sign.  I said I would think and that's been blown out the water many times he would have to at least give us fair warning and not blind side us like that.  He gave the monster 60 days to vacate, we can get the same courtesy.

The heck of it is, you can get used to this place when the water drains from the bath tub so nicely but then you remember, you can never relax.  There's always going to be a surprise around the corner.

A good Christian acts like one.  You don't have to make an announcement on Instagram that you're one.  

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

Way Past My Bedtime

The Dark Things

So Here's the Weekend