Trying to Keep Busy
It's not working too well, but I'm trying. Yesterday, we had some misadventures in recycling. My mom had wanted to get rid of the two TVs that we had that died on us as well as some other electronics like the printer she had for years that stopped working. We had asked the landlord and he said he would, but well, he would promise us a unicorn, depending on his mood. We kind of figured that wasn't going to happen and as it was, the recycling center or Best Buy was going to charge for the TVs. My mom said she would pay and it would have been awkward if our landlord took them and got charged.
Our recycling center was the best bet so we went there and it had been a few years since I took anything down there. I wasn't sure how or what we should do so I pulled up and asked questions. My mom has some hearing issues so I had to explain it to her after I pulled into a parking spot.
This is where we have communication issues. Something like this situation overwhelms my mom. I told my mom just follow me after we pulled in and we took a couple of boxes out. I turned around and found her ready to throw stuff into the area where they threw brush. I called her over and said follow me. She yelled I pointed over there. I said that's not what I meant and ignored the you motioned. I just wanted things done. No reason to go on who said what. I knew she was flustered. I just told her to keep following me when we took stuff and put it in the places where the man directed us. My mom gets flustered if you took her to Subway and ask her what she wants on her sub. She doesn't like complications. Neither do I. She scolded me again but jokingly for putting stryrofoam with the plastic. I said it's in a bin and you know? I tried. We were done at that point and I wanted out of there. We sill have 2 computers to get rid of and we'll ask my brother in-law about that. We were just done.
When we left, I saw that my mom was hauling stuff out of the basement and I thought she was going back to get her purse. When she was ready to go after I put the stuff into my car, I asked about her purse and locking the doors. She said she locked the doors and she had her wallet. Well, she locked one door and luckily I got to our door first because it was unlocked and slightly ajar. Sigh. I probably should have specified both doors? I knew I would have gotten scolded. Just glad to have the whole damn thing done.
It seems to be at night it's the worst. She's dozing off from fatigue and I'm alone with my thoughts. I didn't burst into the waterworks, just felt sadness. At least I'm one day closer to an answer.
I have a senior tiger cat purring. It sounds like a bird chirping. It's raining hard and I got a feeling she's going to be pounding on the window like an inmate and want me to open it up. She made a horrible noise like she was going to throw up moments ago. I worry with her age about something happening. She seemed to be ok when I picked her up and snuggled. My sister thought she was hissing at her when she was here and I explained she has allergies. She was sneezing. She was letting out wicked sneezes yesterday and seemed to calm down when I picked her up. We both need each other. She's been a wonderful sidekick.
Yesterday, my phone said we would get up to 67 degrees. That did not happen and I wasn't mad that it didn't. I just wished I would have dressed for it better when I went for my walk. I have to admit, at least the stores didn't make me feel like I was sweating bullets. I figured for all the times I walked to the bus stop and waited for my bus to go to UWM, I could get a cooler walk yesterday morning. I survived but yes, I turned the heater on full blast.
Looks like I might wait a bit to go out until the rain calms down. I got a little tiger to keep me company. Make me forget.
I hope the good humans have a good day.
Comments
Post a Comment