So the House kind of shook this afternoon
I could hear the landlord's kids running wild downstairs. They were in the monster's bedroom. Is that really sanitary? It was kind of like little earthquakes and surprised that he had them here. I wouldn't think that anyone would be able to get work done. I think some of the pictures were shaking in our place. Four little ones? Yeah. They're going to go wild.
I could hear a man's voice yelling and then quiet for a minute. Back to the crazy. It went on for a couple of hours. Then I heard the words "spanking" and even I got quiet. I thought are you kidding me? It didn't deter the kids. They kept going and it made me cringe like what am I going to hear next? I heard get in the car NOW.
Do I think he hits the kids? Yeah, I do. Years ago, spanking was normal and I hated it. It was kind of regular for all of us back then. Then things changed that it wasn't a good idea. There's just something about putting your hands on a kid that just isn't right. I know. I'm not a parent. What do I know?
My step-dad did hit us kids a few times. He was good at grabbing an elbow. Mostly he was good at intimidating us and it worked for me. If you google Sergeant Carter from Gomer Pyle, that would be my dad. He'd give you a look and that was that.
In junior high, we had a gym teacher that had a girl in a neck hold. Students said that it looked like he was strangling her. He was the boys gym teacher. That was considered normal. In grade school, someone asked me a question before we played dodge ball. We were all sitting on the floor listening to the teacher and when I answered, he turned around and aimed the dodge ball at my head. He missed luckily.
I don't know what the right answers are with discipline, but I think keep your hands off of kids.
Comments
Post a Comment