What's in a name?

Today I got a message that a package was being sent to me from a vendor.  It was someone I've dealt with at our corporate office.  Always seemed nice to me.  I caught something in her message.

She knows my name but she called me Constance and in the context it sounded like I was being made fun of for the package being in that name.

Grow up.  Really.  Even at my age, I'm still dealing with people snickering over what my name is?  How childish and another reminder of why I don't miss this in person stuff.  I honestly hate the stupidity of people using my name to being funny especially when your name is Randy.  Or Dick.  

It kind of crushed me when Sosie and Lorna teased me for my name.  I tried to shake it off but when they would say it, it was just stupid.  It really was.  I put up with that in grade school and now today, I got grown ass women making fun of my name.  It so disappointed me when Sosie did that.  

It is my name and it is my identity.  It absolutely doesn't bother me if someone calls me by my given name.  I prefer my nickname but I'm not going to tear into someone if they use Constance.  I do get tired of the snickering over the name.  Way to show you came out of grade school you dumb asses.  Sigh.  

People didn't name their kids Susie.  They used the name Susan.  Or John was Johnathan.  People would shorten the names because it was easier but those were your given names.

As if I didn't have enough problems, I was tormented by kids for my name.  I was called constipated polak.  Yeah.  That's really funny, isn't it?  I took it.  I took the name calling so I am absolutely disgusted when someone does that. 

I had people use my name in a serious tone and then smirk.  Is your name funny?  

I did say to Sosie once, you do know my mom gave me that name.  Are you making fun of my mom?  I just think why do we have to be like this? 

I was telling a story of reporting someone at JcPenneys when they saw my name and giggled.  Then they proceeded to call me by the wrong name after I corrected them three times.  A friend had said is it a big deal?  I would have let it go.  I said it is a big deal.  I've put up with it all of my life and I get tired of my name being a joke.  It wasn't just my first name.  It was my last name and that can still sting when someone does that to you jokingly.  It feels like someone is telling me you're a joke when they make fun of my name.  

I do have a sense of humor about how my last name has been badly pronounced.  I have told several telemarketers there's no polaks here and hung up.  I also have told people that saying my last name that way can be hurtful because it's sort of a slur to tell a polish person that they're stupid.  I had it all through school and I just don't know how to make people understand how hurtful it is when they do that.

I actually had someone tell me when I returned shoes one time that my last name was polak. I said no.  That's not how you pronounce it.  She knew someone with the same last night and that's how it was said.  I told her NO.  This is how I pronounce it so please respect my pronunciation.  She didn't!  She kept insisting I didn't know how to say my own last name! 

I had a doctor refer to me as Ms. Pollock and I was going to say, Oh, you can call me Connie.

I didn't. I was happy that he just said my name correctly.


Comments

Popular posts from this blog

Way Past My Bedtime

The Dark Things

So Here's the Weekend