RIP Shopkick

My favorite app is gone.  It's still on my phone but I guess the company shut down yesterday.  I didn't know about it until I saw comments on Facebook. Me being the Shopkick dork that I am, had signed up on a Facebook group to get maybe some tips on how to get more points or kicks.  I could see everyone commenting that they had about $100 or $200 they had built up that's gone.  

Damn it.  I can't complain because I was a little short of $5.  Big deal.  I have doing this app for 10 years and unfortunately I can't see how much I've earned in those 10 years. I think about $3600 last time I checked? I didn't really do as much during covid but once we got that rent increase, I pushed harder to get more points.  It did seem like during Covid, you couldn't get as many points as you could before.  Then there were the shoplifters that locked up merchandise you couldn't get at.  Damn it again.

I was seeing signs that this app was losing more appeal when my other apps were better about cashing out.  I have a few apps that build points from walking that have helped immensely.  I've been through this before where an app goes away and I might lose some points or can't redeem a gift card.  It sucks.  This one sucks more because it's been the one I can count on over the last 10 years.  Someone from the company sent an email to one of the users that due to market conditions, they had to shut down.

You know, that orange cretin ruins everything.  Now he wants his face on money?  If that isn't an incentive to never have paper money on hand, I don't know what is.  I've been telling my mom to please stop with the talk about that man today.  She started with the you know he's going to want to name this country after him.  No offense and excuse the cursing on this Friday but I don't want to fucking hear it.  I'm sick of it to the point where I might be in downtown tomorrow with a protest sign.

I won't.  My mom will ground me.  I'm joking. She might be more apt to protest than me.  I do have to mail Charlotte's Easter goodies tomorrow morning and I have to get a check sent back and hand deliver because the mail around here sucks so I'll be back on the east side in the morning.

Well it is kind of a relief not to go to those stores in the morning.  I can pick up the stuff I need and head to the east side or downtown and enjoy a walk.  I can earn my points and probably do better with the apps that I have at the moment.  Ugh.  I know when I get an opportunity to cash out or redeem, I will.  

Sigh.  This is exhausting.

I hope the good humans have a good day.  I'm so tired.  

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

Way Past My Bedtime

The Dark Things

So Here's the Weekend