Well This sucks
Day off. Cancelled my appointment or rescheduled in two weeks. Cold as F. This sucks.
It looks like the case of the stolen check is going to trial. Damn it. There's a scheduling conference set for February 11th. I was so mad when I read the case updates. Not guilty??? Bullshit! Well tell us who you think you did it. It just pissed me off. My mom said she'll testify but she's not happy about it. I said you might get paid for the day. It might not be a lot but I think they'll cover for meals and travel. I get plenty enough time and this is really not my idea of a good time for a day off, but I'll do what needs to get done. Damn it.
I looked up the public defender online to see who this person is. I didn't realize I was following them on Threads. I unfollowed. My friend Mo helps clients who are poor and need help. She'd help us! I don't doubt this attorney is a bad attorney. I saw why I followed her. She's a funny gay liberal with two children of different races. She seems like a nice person.
I wonder if she has a bias against the person that filed the police report on her client. Our area isn't known for being a happy liberal place. I think it's become more diverse over the years. I'm going to guess the defender thinks it's some old racist white lady. No. She's just an old white lady on a fixed income. It doesn't matter which color of the rainbow someone is. If this was John Smith, we would have been filling out a police report.
Her defender has no idea what stress this woman has caused us. I was calling the bank after hours when my mom discovered it. She is sobbing and saying horrible things about what she would do to herself because of this happening. It was 2 days after the election so we weren't feeling so hot as it was. To see this happening? It was like the whole world was ending and my mom was ready for it. It was a nightmare calming her down and talking some sense after I got off the phone with the woman from the bank.
Then the next day we had to go to the bank to close out her account. She could open a new one the following Tuesday. Because of Veterans Day the bank was closed and we needed an appointment to open a new account. I took an hour off that Tuesday and deposited a small amount of money into my mom's new account that day.
She had paid all of her bills before this happened with the exception of one. I paid it and have been since it happened. It's only $18 so not a big deal. This was also the first month that she decided to go to the food pantry. She was tired of me carrying the load of doing a lot. She had cried to the Great Fava about what happened and he said that he would have to talk to his wife about what happened. We were paying the rent. I think what happened prevented a $200 hike instead of $25. He sent a cold letter to us a week later about our rent increase and said he would be doing an inspection. Memories.
I also spent about 2 hours on hold with social security because I needed her check to get deposited into the right account. The nice woman made an exception to do a direct deposit for the month of December because normally it would take 2 months.
When I got her new account set up with Social Security, I accidentally put my checking account on there instead of hers so it took 2 months to get that straightened out.
We have worried about retaliation. It has bothered us that someone had our information and she had done it maybe once or twice after this happened but her bank was on the hook not ours.
I had mailed a birthday card with a gift card for my sister. She likes taking Charlotte to Dollar Tree so I thought it would be a fun thing for her to take her granddaughter. It got mailed the day I mailed the rent check. I don't always have that extra money to do stuff like that and I was happy to do it.
So to the public defender that thinks her client is the victim? Fuck you lady. Sorry for the bad language. You have no idea what hell your client's actions put us through. Now I get to take my mom downtown to the court and deal with more stress because your client is arrogant to think she's being picked on.
Fuck off to both of them. I hate this. We'll do what we set out to do. Leave us the hell alone after this. You picked the wrong people to rob. Life has been robbing us left and right and we don't go forging checks. Go find someone else to rob.
Again. I hate it when I go down cursing road. In this cold weather, my mom is insistent to go to the food pantry this afternoon. I can take her. It's only two blocks but this is what has happened because of this woman. My mom feels afraid that there's not going to be enough for us. Judging by the scale, she's wrong on my part.
It's just been a lot since this woman did this.
Comments
Post a Comment