Just Call Me Stupid
I was actually feeling ok about life this morning. It seemed like things have been a bit better with the new year. It's been busy but definitely people seem a bit lighter. I was worried about the whole ten minutes thing but I thought I'll explain and be more mindful. Even the diva has been more enjoyable. I know! I'm shocked too!
I got a surprise. It was a paralegal who emailed me about a mistake. I wasn't upset that they copied others in that are higher up. This is a new procedure that we started doing. It was the words they used that seemed dismissive and then the comment about money cost that just did me in and it was only 8:04.
Yeah, I pulled myself together after that punched me in the gut. It was a mean tone. I responded to it. A lot of people in my position wind up ignoring it and delete something like that. I had in the past and I responded. It wasn't anything mean. It was apologetic and polite. I also let this person know how I take my role seriously and that any costs incurred would be my worst nightmare and that nightmare has come true. I got talked to about it not in a bad way but I said it upset me. I said I was ok. It was two comments that made me feel like someone took a knife to me and I mentioned I'm not the only one who has been subjected to the tart tongue of this individual. I've ignored it a lot and others have discussed it in meetings like wow. That was a lot. I didn't want to come across as a sensitive sally. I am sensitive. It's also been inflicted on others.
It's par for the course that people talking down to me is a regular occurrence. Paralegals seem to be really good at that. It's been a lot better with the group that I've been around in the past. Some are just downright sweethearts. I just adore a couple of them. I don't dislike this individual that upset me. I actually do like them and I wish they would understand how hurtful they are with their comments.
They hired someone about a year ago that worked in the office with me over 15 years ago. She was shocked that I had a college degree and was only a legal assistant. Oh my god. I had more schooling than she did. I had more schooling than Cassie did.
We had a law clerk that I was friendly with when we started. I liked Lila. When Lila became an attorney and came back to us, she wasn't so nice to me. Initially she was. I actually saw her run from me when I came back from a walk and she was headed for the same door.
I think is there a sign on me that says Kick me or treat me like dirt? I knew in Lila's case she didn't have any respect for her assistant and was actually a bully. I'm not sure what it was where she wound up ignoring me half the time she was there. Not upset when she left. Irma worked with her and they would go get their eyebrows waxed and get facials before big trials. Then they would sob together when they would win. Dramatic much?
It shows your character when you're rude to other women like that. Sosie was a rare exception and oh, do I miss her some days. I wouldn't mind running into her. I felt like an equal even though I knew my boundaries. She welcomed me in. When I came back from time off, she wanted to talk to me and tell me what I missed when I was out. She made time for me. She's truly a nice person and I wish there was more women like her who treated you like a human being.
Tomorrow I might feel up for working on that area where I got dinged on. It's just tiring when someone has to humiliate you. It's more upsetting when it's another woman who does that to you. Why?
I'm with Michelle Obama. We're not grown up for a woman president.
Comments
Post a Comment