Itchy January Hands
This weather is kicking me in the itchy hands department. I was looking at hand masks this morning to see if I could find something for relief. Stupid eczema. At least they're not bleeding. I think I overdid back in early covid with the hand sanitizer and I had a knuckle bleed on me.
I know it's winter months and we're supposed to be wintering but I am missing being able to walk on most weekends. Today is definitely not that day to take a leisurely walk. I have to return my yoga mat and get a few things this morning so that will be my adventure this morning.
I returned the eye mask on Friday. I didn't know about those lights on it and how effective it would be for my sad little eye lines. I've had sad tired eyes for years. Maybe that's part of my look. The mask just didn't seem safe after looking at it. It's $60 which isn't a lot when you have a yearly budget of $750 but you know, I can get a lot of Kindle and Audible books with that budget. I thought if I want to do something nice like that, I'll go to the beauty school for a facial and get one where they do focus on the eyes. Their prices are decent. I know some of my team members got the face mask and they're a lot younger than me. I earned my wrinkles. I just want to make them look like the best damn wrinkles I got, I guess.
I'll be making some appointments soon for the spring. I hate making those calls. It takes me a moment to even make a work call. It's like I need a snack. Or a nap. It's the joys of being a shy and awkward person. Once I get going, then I'm ok. It's the getting started part that's hard for me. My mom has to talk to the guys about her Homestead credit and she said it's nothing against them. She just doesn't like to talk to people. I think she'll be fine once we talk to them. It's the approaching part that's hard.
I got a really nice compliment that was sent to management about their dealings with me last summer as well as other people that she dealt with. She was a lovely woman. When I got asked about it, I said I don't mind when people need to vent and they usually apologize. I get it. It's stressful. I said I'd probably make a better therapist than a mentor. I have found myself talking to people and listening to their stress patiently. The ones that do realize they made a mistake or they feel like maybe things were taken out of control and they feel helpless. They may apologize. I tell them it's ok. You can vent to me. I don't feel like I have anyone to talk to at times in my daily life that I can trust so it's kind of nice to talk to others who just really want their lives to be better and want to be done with the situation that they're in.
Of course I can trust Corinne but she doesn't work with me and she's living her best life as a retired lady. I guess she's sending me a small box this week. Well that's kind. My mom got some fancy coffee from the food pantry that's too fancy for her. I was planning on sending it to Corinne and now that I got a treat coming my way, I feel like what perfect timing.
My stomach got a little upset from some of the food my mom brought home. I had part of a turkey sandwich that was good but seemed to not agree with me. I know some of the stuff she brings home is expired and I just felt kind of depressed that it's come to this. About 3 years ago, we were ok financially or at least she was because rent was lower and we were getting additional money from snap during covid. Her snap amount is fine but the amount of rent is not fine. Sigh. We never got the rent certificate back from the Great Fava. He's probably mad that I sent him another form and told him kindly that he made a mistake. He's caused us so many problems. I thought maybe I'd see it in our mail yesterday and I didn't. My mom can still file. She has to ask Charlie and Jeremy if they'll fill it out and even if they say no, she can state that the landlords refused. I don't think the guys will refuse. They're just new to it so they may have to do their homework on the internet. I'm laughing as I say that. Charlie told us they were reading how to be landlords. I was hoping they would skip the part about rent raises but that didn't happen. I like the guys. I hope they don't make it unaffordable next year.
I worry about Jeremy. I don't know his status and I don't care what his status is. He's kind of an innocent and well I worry about a knock on their door. Those people are can stay away from our neighborhood. Leave us alone.
There are still some things I can't find since we had to pack up our stuff and then unpack and then hide our stuff from the windows guys. I don't know where Michelle Obama's second book is. I had one of those devices, like to help with inflammation that I hid. It was a face massager that had the little red light that wasn't as scary as the eye mask I had tried. I can't find that. I still can't find that damn eczema cream. Damn it.
Oh well. Got to go return a yoga mat. Somehow the price seemed too much even for a mat. I'll look for something with a little more cushioning with my old back.
I hope the good humans have a good day. Stay warm.
Comments
Post a Comment