The Time I went on a Fake Interview
I hated my first job out of college. I knew I wanted to leave after three months but it took me six months before I started sending out resumes. It took me about a year and a half to find the next job so I went on some crummy interviews in the process.
For awhile, I thought maybe I should consider going back to retail but as a manager or assistant manager. I thought I have a degree and maybe my college ex was right. I would be running a store and working with people like at a Victoria's Secret. It was a shitty thing for him to say at the time, but considering my job situation, I wondered if he had a point.
I did apply for several retail manager jobs and I even sent resumes at random just in case they might consider. I did send one to a Victoria's Secret at Bayshore Mall. Back then that mall wasn't great but it was in a nicer part of Milwaukee. I got a call from a nice woman to come in and interview for an assistant manager job.
I remember coming in on a Monday afternoon and meeting with the manager. She was probably a few years older than me and very friendly. It just sounded like a nice environment and great benefits. She was so easy to talk to and I thought this just seemed so much nicer than working in the dreary office that I worked in every day. I would get a nice discount and could shop at their other stores like the Limited and Express and I loved that.
I drove home and took kind of the long way home. I drove down Lincoln Memorial Drive and thought how nice it would be to drive home at night and see how pretty the lake was. I started dreaming that maybe life would be nicer. Maybe this manager would be a good friend. Maybe I would meet new people. Maybe I might meet someone. It might open up a different world.
I was to come back for a second interview on Friday afternoon. I got quite the surprise when I did. The manager wasn't there but the women who worked there let me know what I would have been dealing with. They laughed when I said that I was here for an interview with the manager. It was my second interview. They said they don't have assistant managers at any of their stores and they didn't know anything about it. The manager had the day off. Wow.
I left feeling like an ass. It was just some weird joke. Why did she call me? Why did she do an interview if they didn't have assistant managers at the store? My whole new life of everything falling into place crashed. This just really sucked at the time. I got over it but I still wonder what happened? Why did that woman do that?
It might be because she had an awful staff that she had to manage. Maybe she did want an assistant manager at the time and got told no. The woman that laughed at me were older and she was younger. I get it. I didn't like it at the time.
It was nice to dream of escaping that horrible nightmare of a job. I think I only had a couple of more months of that job and move onto something more pleasant where people actually did want to interview me and that the job wasn't imaginary.
Comments
Post a Comment