More Lost Time

I made it.  Got through another dentist appointment.  Good for another 6 months.  I was worried though.  I didn't think anything was wrong.  I wasn't happy that my dentist was out and the other guy would be taking a look.  His partner ripped my mom off years ago with her dentures. I thought oh hell no.  Not this guy.  It was fine.  I found out that my dentist is on medical leave.  No.  I asked if he was ok and his partner said he was fine.  Just needed some rest.  I hope this isn't anything bad.

He was out maybe 12 or 13 years ago for a little bit.  He's probably in his mid 70s now.  I kind of now that maybe retirement may be on the horizon for him and I wouldn't blame him if he had another health issue.  I came in for a cleaning maybe a couple of weeks after I finished radiation treatment.  It seemed like my teeth were so sensitive and I had a horrible dental tech who was so rough with me and made comments that made me cry.  She apologized and asked why I was so upset.  I explained I finished treatment and I said you make me feel like I'm damaged.  She said Oh, you're not damaged.  Then she proceeded to ask me if I was doing any cancer walks and I said no. I wasn't.  She then went on about how her and her boyfriend went on walks for brain cancer and I should be doing that.  Cue more tears.

Then my dentist walked in and asked me if I was ok.  I told him I had been diagnosed months earlier and was done with radiation treatment.  He couldn't have been kinder and said I'll be ok.  He said I'll bounce back.  I made sure I didn't get the same tech the next time and what a surprise she didn't last long.  I was thankful for my dentist's kindness.  It'll suck if he does wind up retiring but I'd like him to be able to enjoy his granddaughters too.

I made it back after a trip to the post office in Bay View.  No sign telling people not to poop in the lobby.  Things must have improved in the last 6 months.  I got my stamps and went on my way.

I feel like I lost too much time this week.  I don't know what's going to happen when I'm off but eh, whatever.  I'm trying.  I'm busting my tail.  

I was worried about the news conference regarding what happened on Wednesday. I thought it would be someone who supported Democrats.  It really didn't make a difference.  People believe what they want to believe and they decide who's their enemy.  It's just some weird mental illness.

I liked what the governor had said about social media being a cancer and people need to get off.  Yeah, that includes you diva you dancing queen.  Someone on the news said that's naive to think that.  It's a way to connect.  No. I agree with the governor.  Step away from the damn computer.  Go outside.  Go do something.  Want to look at your phone later?  Ok.  Do it later.  Go be outside.  Go to a bookstore or a cafe.  Be nice to people.  

Me?  I may not be around people but I'm going to go for a walk and listen to my Audible book.  When I do, I pay attention to my surroundings. I say hello to people and their dogs.  I enjoy the quiet and the solitude.  

Social media is a cancer.  I'm good from staying away that disease.

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

Way Past My Bedtime

The Dark Things

So Here's the Weekend