The Last Hurrah

I was sort of surprised at how empty the street was when I parked yesterday before I went on my walk.  Then I remembered people are on vacation but it's the last week before school starts.  

I'm going to say something mean.  Oh, the last hurrah so all the phony jerks go on that last vacation to de-stress their lives.  Oh boo hoo.

Sorry that's a biased thing of me to say.  Not everyone who goes on vacation this week is a jerk. I just knew too many of them who would take this time off and whine about their lives being full of stress.  I'm actually not even talking about Lois this time, believe it or not.  

Door County seemed to be the popular place to go for people at this time of year.  It sounds like a place for assholes.  I know someone who lives there now and well, no I don't think she's that.  Out of touch maybe?  No, not that bad.  There was always bragging about going up there to relax and decompress.  There was such an emphasis on letting everyone know about it.  I'm going to decompress while you're gone because I won't have to listen to this stupid crap.

When I stopped traveling on my time off, I just resigned myself to a staycation which isn't all that bad.  Vacations can be stressful getting yourself ready but there's no place like home when you come back.  I think that's probably when I would decompress.  I never could afford a full week so I would usually come back Wednesday or Thursday and have a few days home before I went back to the office.

I started taking my time off in late September and have for probably fifteen years or more?  I feel like I'm ready to crash by August every year and I'm definitely crashing emotionally this year.  Once my week started, it was nice to go to a store and it's not crowded.  It would be nice to just be out and not have to deal with people as much.  Maybe that was the appeal?  Initially I would maybe book a facial or get my nails done when I had the time off.  Now my luxury is sleeping in until 6.  It would be nice to do the other stuff, but it's fine.  I don't have to deal with the daily stress and that's a luxury.  When I do return to that world, I always seem to get at least one comment about being missed after spending some time with people who aren't so friendly or cooperative.  

I'm feeling grouchy too because I really feel dragged down by medical bills this year. I got another notification last night about a new bill.  It's 91.  I am so very scared about this medical test results.  If I have to have a CT scan every year, it doesn't have to be next week. It can be a year from now, but it's like damn.  Can I get a break from medical bills?  Please?  I am feeling a little weepy about it this morning and trying to get my mind off of it.  I'm not doing so hot.

It doesn't seem fair that I keep staying broke to keep myself alive.   

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

Way Past My Bedtime

The Dark Things

So Here's the Weekend