Bringing a little Beauty Back
I got the make up I ordered from Bobbi Brown this week. It's just some light cover up that has maybe a little glow to it. It's sheer. I don't sparkle. I feel sparkly. Quit laughing.
I really hadn't worn a lot of wake up the last few years since I'm at home and it seemed like such a money waste when I thought about it. All the hours I wasted at stupid make up counters at Nordstrom or Macys or Boston Store. I was making someone happy with their commissions because I bought too much.
I did miss wearing mascara but mascara has a shelf life of three months. Most of the time I work a little cover up and mascara before I went to work. That's all that I needed. I loved doing the eye make up but it became a hassle Someone introduced me to the eye stick and I never want to go back. Gimme my eye shadow crayon and I'm good. Easy is better.
I have used the cover up a few times. I used it when I went to get my hair colored mid week. I used it for a couple of teams calls. I wasn't going for a glam look but I'm not Pamela Anderson either. I don't want to be. I just wanted to look like a better version of me and feel better.
It's not going to prompt me to buy more. I don't miss the days of someone selling me a line of BS so I can buy blush or lipstick. I'm good. And yes, red lipstick makes me look ridiculous. If I buy lipstick, I'll do it myself, thank you.
I did make an appointment for an eyebrow wax. It appears that I can't do the retin-A thing and it appears I really suck at taking care of my eyebrows. Damn it. I thought I was going to know how with my little eyebrow kit that I got. No. Epic fail. At least it was less than 6 bucks.
I made an appointment at my old salon, but not that location. I might try to get an appointment with the beauty school for a future appointment. I just knew if I went back to the place I was going to and asked them if I used any Retin-A products or told them what happened, I would hear that my dermatologist is an idiot - he's not or I should buy their products - not going to happen. I get tired of the pushing products. I wasted so much money, find someone else, please.
When the diva started, I had looked them up on the infamous career social media page I'm not going to talk about. I did it when an attorney started and thought Oh, so that's what they look like at the time and look at their experience.
I wasn't sure if someone was playing a joke on me when I pulled up the diva's page. I thought I was seeing Aunt Lydia from the Handmaid's Tale with a Sephora make over. Yeah. That's a shitty comment on my part. I only watched that show once. There were other thoughts too. Far worse. At least that's an Emmy award winning show. She didn't need all that make up. She's actually a really attractive woman with a really demanding personality. Maybe the excess make up was a sign for me. I don't know.
When I did so a little retail therapy and got a few things from Kohls, I wanted to find a couple of shirts that were casual but not in a I Gave Up kind of way. I got too comfortable with the cat lover and Friends memes T-shirts. Too afraid to wear the Harris Walz t-shirts openly and in public these days. I never did before the election. Great to hide under a cardigan though.
I would like to find something different than my zip up hoodies. I know why I do it. It's to hide me. I had something that happened that has made me feel super self aware of my body and I so badly want to hide it. I know! Nobody knows, except for me if I don't say anything.
I recognize the shield. I just want to make it look a little nicer. I want to feel better that way.
I know I shine in my own way. I know I hide. I've been vulnerable and there's so many times where you think when can I reveal myself? When can I open with someone?
Maybe I can get some fashion tips from Aunt Lydia. Yeah, I know. That was bad.
I want to be the best version of me. That's all.
Comments
Post a Comment