Ok to have feelings - Feel the feels

People wonder why I'm so standoffish about some things or opening up.  Well this morning was a prime example of why I just don't discuss personal stuff because people's comments piss me off.

I was feeling kind of feeling bad for well feeling sort of annoyed with the diva. I had a frustrated moment last week and I admitted what I was going through.  She was sympathetic and kind. 

I felt kind of annoyed with comments they made on Tuesday that seemed a little bossy and uncalled for but I ignored it.  I felt really pissed off when I saw that they avoided something difficult and guess who handled it?  Me.  The excuse I saw was familiar and I wasn't happy.

So I wasn't real happy to hear from the diva.  They wanted to know if I was feeling better.  I said NO.  They know my living situation and health scare.  I got lectured about worrying about things I can't change and advice I didn't ask for.  I politely told this person this is a stressful situation and I am going to worry.  Those are my feelings and I would like them to change but it's not magic.  Not knowing where to live is a stressful thing so buzz off on telling me what I should feel.  Am I supposed to be skipping down the street with a lollipop?  Get out of here. 

So ok, here's the type of comments I would have gotten during medical treatment.  If I said I'm so tired.  I'm so stressed out, I would have gotten You know you're lucky to be alive?  Most people aren't as blessed as you.  Be thankful you didn't have chemo.

Most of the time I felt ok when I went through treatment. I kept busy with work and trying not to think about it.  Some days, I felt scared.  Lonely.  I would sit in my car and cry before treatment. I felt broken and sad.  Then maybe the next day, I would wake up and feel better.  I go through this when I get called back for a test or find some new hiccup or get a bill.  Feelings are normal.  I hate that when people tell you how you should feel.  It's dismissive and rude.  

Venting is ok.  If I bitched every day that I didn't feel ok, someone would have the right to say Get over yourself.  I feel that way with the diva to be honest.  Ironic they're telling me how to feel isn't it?

I went to look at a place in Cudahy on my own.  My mom wasn't feeling up for it and I had my doubts.  Well it looked like we would be living in a store.  I didn't even go in.  There was a bar on the corner and I thought this would be a bad idea.  I thought this is insane.  I drove past the 8 family place that was nearby and that actually looked promising.  I felt a little sad that it's come to this, but you know what?  It's ok that I felt sad!  I felt bad that our landlord has pushed out but I would also like to be away from him.  I would like life to be free of some toxic people and he's one of them.

Lucky me.  I'll always have the diva.  Pain in my ass.  Good grief.  

Feel the way you want to feel.  It's ok.  I said so! 

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

Way Past My Bedtime

The Dark Things

So Here's the Weekend