Finding the Positive on this Cold Monday

I was surprised I stayed up longer than I did. I didn't get the sleep I should have but I'm ok.  I think watching the Saturday Night Live special put me in a better mood.

I really only like Weekend Update on Saturday Night Live.  A lot of the skits kind of suck.  Not always.  I loved seeing the special last night.  Especially Eddie Murphy.  Oh, how I loved Mr. Robinson's neighborhood.  I can't remember when Beverly Hills Cop came out, but I remember my mom taking me to see it after I had an orthodontist appointment.  I was out of school for the afternoon and we saw it at Skyway theatres by the airport.  It was nice to be out of school for the afternoon.  

My mom had asked if I thought it was bad if she kept us kids home for a day if we were stressed out about something and felt sick.  I had a few moments like that where she did keep me home.  I said not necessarily.  It was like a mental health day when you think about it.  It's like you needed a break from life.  Or in my case bullies.  

I took three personal days after my surgery because I wasn't quite ready to go back to work.  I knew what the managing attorney had done.  She gossiped and the worst people knew my situation and were going to start throwing little digs at me and make me cry.  I needed to prepare myself mentally and I think I did pretty good until Lois laid into me on my last day with her crap and the gusher of tears exploded.  I'll never apologize for taking an entire day off for a doctor's appointment.  Sometimes I need a moment to take a breath.  With all the years that I have, I have the time.  It's not fun time, but it's time I can take.  

I was hoping the monster would take his woman to work this morning but it's too cold for his delicate self.  Jerk.  I think he is moving and well, I don't know why my landlord didn't respond.  Maybe he doesn't know.  I know the landlord did shovel on Wednesday and the monster on Saturday.  Big difference between the two. I just did enough by the garage to get the car out.

We've had tenants who have lived downstairs that didn't have normal working hours so yeah, I had to pull a shovel out and at least clean up by the garage to get my car out.  I didn't care. I figured they would do the heavy lifting at some point in the day so I'm capable of getting out there and doing 20 minutes to get myself out.  Glad I don't have to do that anymore.  

I discovered my cousin is part of the Republican party for her county a few months ago. I found the Facebook page last night.  It wasn't a page full of we're running this candidate and remember to vote type of pictures.  It was just hate.  I think they were mocking transgender people.  Calling Joe old.  It was disgusting.  She had sent me a friend request a few years ago and I ignored it.  I wasn't close to her as a kid.  Kind of thought she was a mean girl and well, I think she still is. 

I guess we'll see at the end of next week what happens.  I wasn't planning on us staying here long term.  I knew at some point we'd have to go, but if we could have stayed a year.  I suggested to my mom that if the monster leaves, maybe we should look at some places in Cudahy and St. Francis if they are affordable in the late spring or early summer months.  Stay proactive.  I don't know who will be here next.  It will be a happy day not to have the monster around.

I just hope it's soon.  

I hope the good humans have a good day and stay warm.

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

Way Past My Bedtime

The Dark Things

So Here's the Weekend