An Exhausting Election Season
It was kind of an interesting day. I got to admit that. I think there might be some good news on the lurker front. I'm not sure but stay tuned. It was like Oh, is there some hope for me? Maybe. I'm not going to get too excited but I relished the moment when I was informed of the news.
It's been a long election season. Oh boo hoo Joe Biden accidentally called Trump supporters garbage. I would say he had it right about some - not all. Despite my feelings towards Trump, I do know people who support him and they are not bad people. Quite the opposite. I think differently then they do and same for them. We're allowed to have a difference of opinion. Storming the capitol and doing harm to police officers? Not ok.
I am tired of the scare commercials like men going into women's locker rooms. Sigh. Do people really think men can just walk into women's locker rooms just like that? Do they think the locker rooms are going to be filled up with men?
If a boy or a man identifies as a woman, chances are, they are more concerned about their safety and feeling like they belong. They're going to go look at naked woman and get excited by it. If someone identifies as a different gender, it's so much more complex than small minded people think.
When I would see signature lines of people using pronouns, I didn't get it at first. I thought that seems silly. I understood it from watching Kaitlyn Jenner's show when she transitioned. Pronouns are important to the transgender community and by me using pronouns in an email? It's a symbol that I'm a friend to the transgender community. I'm an ally. Damn straight I am. I get it now.
There's a lot of change we don't always understand. People don't take the time to understand it. Lucie Arnaz did a good video last night about voting for Kamala Harris and about change. I get it. There's a lot in life that can be a lot with change.
I liked what Kamala said about everyone having a seat at the table. It reminded me of my 8th grade book report on Shirley Chisholm who said if you don't have a seat at the table, pull up a folding chair.
I will lose Sling the day after the election and I'm ok with that. Corinne showed me how to access MSNBC online and I'll get CNN when I get HBO Max for their Black Friday sale of $2.99 a month. I do know how to get a good streaming deal.
Regardless of how people feel about Kamala Harris, she ran one hell of a campaign in the short period of time. It was kind of my hope that her 3 plus years as vice president was a great learning ground to be the leader. She's ready.
I so hope the majority of people think so. I'm so tired of the hate and chaos. Even if Kamala wins, I am very worried about what people will do.
I voted and I text banked. I wrote postcards and letters. I did something.
All I want for my birthday is for Kamala to win this race. I need to feel some hope again.
Comments
Post a Comment