Almost Got Hit by a Car

 Yeah, what a title.  True story.

I live about 6 blocks from the grocery store and I normally walk to use Shopkick on my phone. I got a couple of cans of Sparkling Ice.  As I crossed the street at 70th and National Avenue, a car came towards me. I had the right of way.  They apparently didn't want to stop.  And they almost missed me.  I was so angry I flung my bag towards the car screaming obscenities.  Not a proud moment, but for the situation, it was justified.  I saw that the car stopped and I screamed JUST F-ING GO!  They were probably upset that I might have touched their car with my grocery bag.  

I am tired of the traffic in this area.  I won't cross at that intersection again.  I can't take the lack of people not paying attention.  I will find side streets where there is less traffic.

I used to walk in the neighborhood a lot more on the weekends but when Covid hit, it seemed like people in this area didn't take it too seriously.  So that's how I wound up driving over to the east side on the weekends and going for my walks.  More peace, people said hello and I got fresh air.

It's become a tradition the last 4 years to drive my car over to this side street maybe 4 blocks from the hospital and cancer center. I would normally go to Starbucks after an appointment.  I don't drink coffee but I kept getting so many gift cards at work, I would get a cake pop or some other drink that wasn't coffee.  And there's a beloved book store that's next door. I used to see more authors when it was under a previous owner, but it's fun to wander around.  I actually found my new eye doctor a few doors down after walking down the street so many times.

I normally listen to my Audible book of choice in the car and drive over to my spot.  I will mail anything I need to mail, maybe walk over to CVS and then go for my walk. My goal is to hit 10,000 steps and to take on the hill near the hospital. I get a beautiful view of the lake and sometimes there's something going on.  I may see familiar walkers and say hello.  I love seeing the dogs and saying hello as their owners try to get them to calm down.  I don't mind.  It's much better than the people I deal with every week.

I used to walk a hill when I would go for my walk at lunch when I was at the office.  The hill I walk by the hospital is nicer.  I don't do it when it's 90 degrees because that would be bad, but it's a nice feeling of accomplishment once I tackle it.  I am normally home by noon after all that and then I do the things that my mom and I would do, like go grocery shopping.

It's nice to pretend that I don't live in a place I can't afford.  It's nice to forget that I have a monster downstairs who won't clean up after his dogs and if I were to complain?  He would retaliate against me.  I'm so embarrassed by what this place looks like.  It just makes me sad.  The dogs will bark all day and sometimes it's hard to concentrate when I'm working.  It's not fair.  I don't dislike the dogs. I dislike the monster that is stuck with them.  

It's just really nice to go for that walk and pretend that life isn't so hard for a few hours on the weekend.  It's my great escape.  I can't always do it every weekend but it's sure nice when I can.  Who knew getting to use a 40% off coupon at CVS would be the thrill of my weekend?  Oh that makes me sound so bad.  

Almost got hit by a car.  I don't think today was good.  

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

Way Past My Bedtime

The Dark Things

So Here's the Weekend