Woe and Roe

 I don't even know what to say about the news yesterday.

I'm not shocked because we knew it was coming from the leaked memo.  

I remember seeing an anti abortion truck outside of the Democratic volunteer center in 2004 when I dropped off one of my lists after I went door to door.  It was a little creepy to see it sitting there. 

So many times I would drive home on the freeway and see signs hanging off the freeway during an election about abortion is murder and naming the Democrat that was running is a murderer.

Not shocked.   I'll never forget being called a baby killer.  Shocked.  Not shocked.

I worked with a woman maybe 30 years ago that was six months pregnant and found out her baby had died.  She was going on medical leave to have a procedure.  She was heartbroken. We were all heartbroken and we all visited her when she did give birth to a healthy baby girl about 2 years later.  Is she a horrible person that she had that procedure?

I hear stories of women's lives being in jeopardy or medical risk and it doesn't make this subject easier.  I've never been pregnant.  I can't speak or judge anyone who has been in this situation.  It's really none of my business.

And it's not the Supreme Court's business.  And shut up Clarence Thomas.  Maybe we should do something about sexual harassment laws, Clarence.

I was horrified to hear former Missouri Senator Claire McCaskill discuss how women can be investigated after they had a miscarriage in her own state.   Wow.  That is insane.  People wonder why I don't watch The Handmaid's Tale.  It's because we're in our own version of it.  No thanks.

I think of why women didn't vote for Hillary Clinton. I just don't like her.  But her emails.  Sigh.  You're voting for a president, not prom queen.  I campaigned for John Kerry and John Edwards.  I still like John Kerry, but I'd hit John Edwards with my purse, lying jerk.  You don't have to like people to get their vote.  You have to ask yourself if this person going to represent my values?  I like Hillary.  She got a bad rap and we wouldn't be in this situation if white women got over their "I don't like her" BS. 

I just can't with the conspiracy theories.  The fact that people get opposed to wearing masks and yell My Body!  and yet will bomb Planned Parenthood clinics is too much for me.

I write my letters. I write my postcards. I buy stamps.  I vote.

I looked at my ballot for the August primary and I'm not always sure about some of the offices like who is the best person even if both people are Democrats.

I picked women.  There were a couple of exceptions but I picked women.  2018 brought a ton of women into office.  I want a tsunami of women coming into office for 2022.  It would be one awesome belated birthday present.

It's now up to us to make this right and better.  Complacency isn't an option.  And we need to support each other.  


Comments

Popular posts from this blog

Way Past My Bedtime

The Dark Things

So Here's the Weekend