Attention Seekers

 I actually showed up for my eye exam and forgot to put my contact lenses in.  What in the fresh hell is wrong with me?

I normally don't put my contact lenses in right away when I get up and work. I can see.  I got a screen up close and I may pop them in around 9 or 10.  Give my eyes a break.  Noooo, not today.  Yeah, I can drive fine without them but I wondered when I put my sunglasses on why did it feel like a blur?  That's why?  Good gawd.  No no no.  I need help I swear.  Did you notice that I didn't call myself an idiot?  Yeah, I'm thinking it but I'm trying to be kinder to myself in moments like this.

The tech or the helper had a good laugh when I admitted what I did.  She said I don't mean to laugh at you.  Nah, this is one time it's really ok.  I wasn't mad.  I thought it was funny.  Kind of how could I be so you know what?  Overwhelmed.  Tired.  Very tired.  It was all good. Went home with some sample lenses. I can drive without glasses or contact lenses. I would have managed. Since I knew what was happening, yeah, thanks for the sample good humans.

I was kind of nervous about seeing this doctor because well I saw his wife initially and I got to say, I think she's a bitch. I know.  Way to go woman power.  Way to support the woman.  When I think about the interactions I had with him versus her, I'm really kind of getting it now.

She kind of shamed me for using Bio True lens solution. I should use Opti Free.  It's the best.  Well ok.  I had an eye irritation from some cheap stuff I bought so I went along with what she said.  She said it's the champagne of solution.  I thought let's go that far.  She complained that when she told that to some male patients they got offended and went to her husband.  She made some comparison to drinking cheap beer.  Well I don't drink so I didn't think anything of it.

She got a little testy with me about seeing her husband for an eye irritation.  It was on a Monday and she wasn't working.  He was.  I didn't go make out with him. I might have walked out with some free eye drops but that's about it lady.

I never really got any free contact lens solution which is ok and when I asked about eye drops, she told me some exclusive stuff I can find.  They're not that exclusive, you can find them on Amazon for crying out loud.  

I was curious to see where she was working or if she was on Facebook after I realized she wasn't there anymore.  She had all these quotes about cheating men and men who lie.  I thought damn lady.  Yeah, I found the case on the court website.  I hope she changed her page to private because an attorney will put that information up and show it.  Keep that stuff of the internet because if you're getting a divorce, you're going to make your spouse's attorney very happy because that will be Exhibit A, B, all the letters in the alphabet.

I looked at the website the other day to see it updated.  It looked nice and I thought well he's got all these nice young women working for him.  I suppose.  It's not right but things happen.  

I got to say, this was actually a much nicer experience.  They've had young kids working for them at the front desk.  I'm guessing college kids and I was kind of feeling like a schlub the last time I was there.  They wanted to show me fancy glasses and I said thank you, but I couldn't afford them.  I kind of wondered after I left if maybe this was the place for me.  

It generally took about an hour for the exam.  This took about 30 minutes between the tests they gave me and the exam.  She would go on and on about her patients going to her husband.  He was kind of quiet and asked me a few questions.  He had a good laugh that I came here with no contact lenses.  No way in hell was I going to bring up his ex.  No way.  No how.  I was afraid she was lurking in the shadows waiting to hit me with a shovel.  The whole experience was easier and I didn't feel like such a schlub.  His soon to be ex wife would prance in her six inch heels and talk my ear off.  I thought it was amusing at times but sometimes she would say something that might be insulting.

I get it now.  She was an attention seeker.  She works somewhere in Waukesha which is way too far for me.  Ok, maybe not but I don't like Waukesha.  It was kind of nice getting done at 2 and being free to go about my afternoon. I certainly wasn't going to go home and go back online.  

Speaking of attention seekers, the diva let us know that she was attending a funeral and would be off 3 days.  People expressed their sorrys in the chat.  Then she put the person's obituary in our chat.

For what reason was that necessary?  That was just shoving it in our faces.  Someone commented on what a thoughtful person they must have been and the diva commented on life being too short.

The diva has had 3 deaths she has contended with her in her short time with us and she was been overly dramatic with each one and I just can't bring myself to feed into the attention.  I just can't.  I'm tired of it.  It's like take the time that you need and please remember you're not the center of our universe.  

I feel like I'm a diva when I bring up incidents that happened that surprised me.  I would like attention when I'm hurting and not to get mistreated. I don't want people falling all over me like I'm the queen of the world.

Attention seekers just wear me out.  Maybe that's why I forgot my contact lenses today.  Damn.  I can't believe I did that.


Comments

Popular posts from this blog

Way Past My Bedtime

The Dark Things

So Here's the Weekend