Winding Days of Staycation

It was my initial intent to not look like a cartoon villain and get my hair colored this week.  That didn't happen and may not happen until early November.  Not in my budget.  I have two eyebrows now and that makes me happy.

It was kind of nice to walk through downtown and see the sights.  I walked past the old building where I worked and posted a picture on Facebook.  Some of my old co-workers commented I should go in and go up to the ninth floor. I think we moved to the 17th floor before I left but that was 23 years ago.  I said maybe I could hear the sound of the old mail room clerk chewing ice.  She would sit by reception when I would cover for someone during lunch and chomp on ice.  Oh my god it was like nails on a chalkboard.  She never said much.  She was actually the helper for our mailroom guy.  She told him that she hated him one day when he pretended to fall in front of the cart she pushed as a joke.  It was an interesting time.

I don't miss the job.  I do miss some of the people but have reconnected on Facebook.  That's the good for social media.  Seeing people that you really did like back then and getting to see their lives now.  They just see me wandering the streets of downtown.  Not much excitement here.

My mom is now in we need to buy more food mode since we'll have company next weekend.  I think we have enough and I just kind of wanted to go to bed early last night because some of the things I asked about were not things we had yet.  My mom suggested maybe I could eat the Doritos.  Sigh.

I spent the last week trying to push myself harder to lose weight and I got the saboteur starting with me.  I know it's not on purpose. I guess part of me worries about next week being a week full of bad choices sitting in front of me.  This week I had an opportunity to get out more and move more.  Eat less.  Now when I go back to being inside and with company, and moving less, I'm just worried about back sliding.  It's my intent not to.  I feel like the failure when I do have company because of my weight troubles.  I just want to be healthier and not feel ashamed like I do.  

I saw the claim that got denied for that blood test I took last month.  $7900.  Oh my god.  I'm not worried that I'm going to get a bill. I figure my doctor's office will deal with it.  That's a lot for a blood test.  I'm thankful I don't have to CT scans once a year and hopefully my next screening will go better come next March.  No more ultrasounds.  Can we skip a year please?  Just a visit to my doctor, maybe get my eczema stuff from the dermatologist, new contact lenses from the eye doctor and definitely no surprises from the dentist.  I'd like to keep next year simple on the medical front.

I'm going to try to get moving this morning. I didn't get my 20K steps, I got about 17K which is good. I was tired when I came home and I didn't feel like walking later in the day.  I think I did better this week than I have in a long time.

Going to go climb that hill again.  Maybe see a butterfly.

I hope the good humans have a good day.  

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

Way Past My Bedtime

The Dark Things

So Here's the Weekend