Gender Confusion

I just happened to be coming towards the escalator this morning when I was entering Whole Foods and I saw a woman at the foot of the escalator with two little girls, trying to get her stuff together and I heard her say to the little girl, Move out of the way, there's a man coming.

I looked around and realized I was the man she was talking about.  WHAT?  The little girl looked confused and I just said quietly "I'm not a man."  I even mouthed it when I up the escalator.

I realized that she might have been in a hurry but still.  I did get my hair cut a little shorter but I've had it shorter than that!  My bangs were hanging in my face from my sunglasses.  I may have had cancer but there's still two indications that might indicate that I'm not a male.

I also recognize my weight gain makes me look stockier.  I have broad shoulders but when I gain weight it turns me into a football player.  Sigh.  I never had to wear shoulder pads because I already had the big shoulders.  I don't think I got cankles.  I don't think.  I was wearing my Peace in Ukraine T shirt and random blue knit pants and sneakers so I wasn't wearing an evening gown.  I had my pretty green purse with me damn it!  I know I dermaplanned the night before and nicked my chin because I got a little overzealous.  

I got teased as a kid for being a tomboy and there are pictures of me with a baseball cap.  There I am, big ears, a Grease movie t shirt and my short hair cut.  I hate that picture.  

About 30 years ago, I think?  I was getting lunch at the Grand Avenue Mall and the girl behind the counter said your food will be up shortly sir.  I'm like what?  This was the 90s and chances are, I was wearing a dress or a skirt so that flabbergasted me.  At least the woman behind me said What's wrong with her?  Is she that stupid?  When I got my food, I said I'm not a sir.  She apologized and I was just pissed.

I don't know if it's my eyebrows or if it's my nose but it takes me back to the 8th grade and I'm like what am I doing wrong?  My mom just had a good laugh when I told her and asked her if the woman looked stupid.  She probably was in a hurry and I'm letting this get to me way too much.

I think I know how Kringle feels now.  His vet almost gave him a hysterectomy.  My mom still calls him a she.  

I watched a lot of America's Next Top Model when it was on and I'm ashamed to admit it but I did.  I know they talked a lot about models having features that may appear masculine and I think do I?  They didn't think of those things as bad or anything on the show.  They thought it may have made a model more marketable.  I'm so ashamed that I watched this show and am still admitting it.  

No, I don't think I should be a model either.  I'm not that diva. It makes me less offended.

I don't have much of an ego and I definitely didn't have get kicked in the ego on my bingo card today.

At least I got my steps in.  

It's all good.  It makes me appreciate being called Ma'am.  

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

Way Past My Bedtime

The Dark Things

So Here's the Weekend