Weird

 I laughed about someone telling me about their relative's hobbies and what an oddball that person was, even though they thought they were nice.

Then I realized, how the hell am I any different?  I'm sure I get called that word that seems to be a four letter word for me "weird"

I embrace the word and I hate the word in the context that it's been used to describe me.

My parents hired a baby sitter for my sister and I as a kid.  She told the neighborhood I was weird because I swirled pixie sticks around and talked to them.  I like candy and maybe the pixie sticks were my friend, Janice.  Stupid cow.

I am silly and make off the wall comments.  I like making people laugh and life is absurd.  When I get called weird, most of the time it's not a good thing.  I can shrug it off and in the rare moment, I will pop off at the person calling me weird.

Trevor, the paralegal I used to work with thought I was hilarious but he would say things like are you ever serious or you're so weird.  The last time he said it, I just thought are you kidding me?  With the people that were around us in our daily life, he had a lot of nerve calling me weird.  He was the one that blabbed all of their business too.  I pointed to one individual's office and said that guy is so obnoxious he had legal assistants wearing black armbands because they were protesting working for him.  I pointed out another person who found porn on their computer and was showing a manager who asked him if he lost his mind.  Same person also paid for their kids private school with gambling.  I went on while Trevor was panicking that someone would hear the secrets I was revealing that he told during our lunch times together.  I reminded Trevor he jokes about the size of his manhood.  I said that's a little weird and that could also get you into a class about what you say in the workplace, jackass!  I realize I would be joining Trevor in the same class.

I have seen people do the eye rolls when I talk.  It's not lost on me.  It reminds me that person is well, a jackass and not worth my time.

I know some of this comes from my status as a single person.  She doesn't have kids, she doesn't have a husband and she must live with her mom in Grey Gardens with 50 cats.

There's a scene in Uncle Buck where he has to talk to the principal about his niece Maisy.  I think about how he stuck up for her that it was ok that she's a silly heart and that there's nothing wrong with her.  I realize I'm a lot older than this character but I feel like that explains me perfectly.  I'm silly and dopey and I like to laugh.  I'm quirky and will start singing randomly in a grocery store with my mom.  A few months ago, I was at Target and a woman was singing Dancing with a Stranger by Sam Smith and some other singer.  I joined her.  We made great music.  Someone might think that's "weird".  

I am a silly heart.  If I am weird, well, then I should march in that parade.

I'm ok with it. 

I am not and I repeat JD Vance weird.  That's a whole other blog post.  

Have a good day good humans and embrace your weirdness.  Unless you're JD Vance.  Then you should stay away from the new Pope.  Weirdo. 

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

Way Past My Bedtime

The Dark Things

So Here's the Weekend