Not Quite Ready for the Day
I had an 8 am appointment for an oil change and I was maybe 1 minute late. I didn't get a demerit but I hate it when I show up like that.
I just couldn't seem to get my act together this morning. I got up early enough. I blame my mom. No, I blame me, but she was up early and we talked about our crappy experience in Cudahy yesterday. Corinne had sent me a rental not too far from me for a super low price. I looked up the address and found out it just sold. Then I looked up scams on Facebook marketplace. Yeah. Thanks, Corinne. It's a scam. Even I didn't realize how bad it was.
That wasn't the reason I was late. I just seem to stall. I figured I could make it when I hurried out at 7:32 and pulled out of the garage. I was doing ok until I realized I had to exit off the freeway because I wasn't int the right lane. Damn it. I followed someone else who probably did the same thing and got back on the freeway.
Then when I got to the dealership I couldn't get my FOB off the keychain and asked the adviser for help. I thought nice going. Normally I have that ready. Not today! All is well with the car. Only needed an oil change and is still in good shape. Thank goodness.
I used to have trouble going to the office and being maybe 1 to 6 minutes late. Bad on my part. I swear it was something in my brain where I would forget something or I'd stop at a store and linger way too long.
I know why I did it. I just wasn't ready for the day at the office. I wasn't ready for the stupid talk about silly things. I wasn't ready to pretend to like people who weren't really nice to me. I just wasn't ready for the BS. I normally left like maybe 10 or 15 minutes past my quitting time to finish stuff up. It was just starting in the morning that always got me.
In the case of the car dealership, I was probably worried they would bring me a new problem. I just didn't need one more issue.
I am a timely person with other matters, but put me back in an office and I'll turn into the lingerer again.
Comments
Post a Comment