I Hate the Mall
I thought maybe I'd walk around Mayfair Mall and get exercise since I had to make a return. No, I just wanted to leave.
I had done my normal route of picking up a few items that were needed and got a little turned around to find the mall, but I got there.
I looked at my emails and I got the email I knew was coming. My medical bill. Damn. $883 and some cents. I tried to figure out what my payment would be if I put in for 10 months. It wouldn't let me. I was approved for 5 months at $176 and some cents a month. Damn again. I think I paid about $125 a month when I had the shots in my stomach. There was a number I could call and well, I get to do my favorite thing on Monday. Make a phone call. Damn it. If they could at least let me pay $125. I'd like it to be $50 but I know I'll get laughed at. What great timing as I wonder if a potential new landlord wants us to stay.
My mom had called me as I stepped into the mall and I sat down with my return to talk. I hate returns so I was ok with her telling me the latest conspiracy theory she had about what's going on and anything she saw on the internet. We had a good laugh when I told her I got a little lost in Wauwatosa and she asked me if I was looking for the monster. I said yes, I miss something screaming obscenities at me in the morning. Oh, how I long for his foul mouth. She had a potential place as a back up in case we have to move. I told her about the payment for my bill and well she said isn't this great timing. That's life, I guess.
I already knew I was going to have trouble when I saw the look on the salesperson's face when I walked in with the box. I was keeping the box. I just thought it'd look trashy if I came in with a pick n' save bag. I had my receipt and she asked me if I wanted a fitting. I shook my head no. I already got shamed at their store years ago when someone left me in the dressing room with those ugliest picks after they did a fitting on me. I left in tears waiting for the girl who never came back. Felt like she was playing a trick on me. She asked me if I wanted an exchange and I said no, I'd just like my money back. The color was pretty but the style just didn't work. It took me about 4 years to figure out what would work, what would be flattering and what would hide what happened to me. She offered to give me something else different at the same price and I said it just didn't have enough coverage. The fabric was sheer. She seemed annoyed by my response and was kind of disgusted that I used Afterpay. I'm sure I'll be back. NOT.
I've actually made a couple of nice purchases from their store online and I was very happy with them. This one just didn't work and I wasn't going to pay $7 to have UPS send it back. I do use Afterpay or pay in 4 on more than one occasion. It helps me budget, bitch! I'm so tired of rude people like that. I get tired of the pushing. I hate to see brick and mortar stores go, but this is why people shop online. Less embarrassment. I might consider UPS next time after this experience.
I knew my old mentor Barry lived in the Wauwatosa area, not that far from me and I tried to take the route past his house to get over to North Avenue. I wasn't sure about the house but it looked like he might be selling. Maybe I'm wrong. I felt like a stalker for gluing my eyes to the neighborhood. I know his daughters are either out of college or almost done. Well good for him if he's the one selling.
I really hope I get to stay here. This last month or so has been exhausting.
I absolutely hate the mall. As it was, whenever my mom and I went, we would meet in an hour. We were able to seek and find and get out. I was never a marathon shopper like one of my aunts. She could go 8 hours. No way in hell. Yeah, you can get a buzz from retail therapy but then you got to deal with people like the one I dealt with this morning.
I hate mall. Have I said that enough times?
Comments
Post a Comment