A Peeve that isn't going away

I'm afraid the diva hit a nerve with telling me how to feel.

I think people are going to have bad days.  They're going to have rough moments and sometimes life is a struggle.  Telling someone how to feel just really irks me.  

Years ago, I had a job where people were really mean if you made a mistake.  I had one executive say God damn it, how stupid are you?  Well, wasn't the first time I heard it.

I had forgotten to do something and my manger said How stupid are you?  That just hit me hard that day. I went home for lunch and cried.  It was kind of a cruel thing to say.  When I came back from lunch, I felt better.  I ran into an IT person who saw me step on the elevator and noticed I looked sad.  He probably saw the red puffy eyes and he asked me how my day was going and I said not so great.  

He then asked me if I had cancer and I said no.  He asked me if I had bad health and I said no.  He told me to consider myself lucky.

Sigh.  Yeah.  I was lucky I wasn't sick at the time. I also felt demeaned and demoralized by my manager and it just sucked.  It was ok that I cried at lunch. I didn't spend my day doing it. It helped that I went home and felt better after I had something to eat.  I realized he was trying to make me feel better, but it was just stupid comments.  Someone just broke my spirit that day and it was just hard to keep it together.  It wasn't you made a mistake.  It was you're pretty stupid. 

I realize that people mean to make someone feel better with their rationalizing.  Let people have their bad day.  Let people cry if they want to cry.  Sometimes all anyone wants?  Is a kind ear.  The diva proved my point about staying quiet when I go through my medical. I won't make that mistake again.  


Comments

Popular posts from this blog

Way Past My Bedtime

The Dark Things

So Here's the Weekend