Early to Bed and Up too early

 I was trying to watch something other then the news last night and my mom kept calling me over to look at a place she would find for a rental and I thought maybe I should go to bed.  It was a little bit before 10.  No offense to her but I thought maybe I just need sleep and forget that the housing situation is a nightmare.

This place looks like a palace in comparison to what we see online.  She showed me a place in Greendale that we had looked at years ago that actually seemed nice.  It was maybe too small for us at the time but considering we keep having to downsize and we have a psycho downstairs, this had appeal.  I dislike that I look up the realtor's name online and find the reviews.  I am not trying to find something bad but I need to find out the reality because I don't want us moving into a nightmare.  There were problems with a bed bug infestation, mold, roaches.  Sigh.  Why?  Why do realtors or property owners let people live like this?  

There's not too many property owners who maybe have the five or six duplexes like the landlord who originally rented to us 15 years ago.  He was actually a banker who's now retired and he owned maybe a few duplexes.  He got asked by our current landlord if this property was for sale and he sold it.  Ugh.  We could have killed him but we had hoped that things would be ok.  Oh, yeah, we miss the old one.  He wouldn't have put up with someone screaming obscenities at us.  I knew my old landlord had prostate cancer and probably was ok with having one less place to deal with.  His son actually lived downstairs from us originally who got married and had a baby and bought a house.  He rented the downstairs to our current landlord and his wife because he had worked with the wife's father at the bank so we can't exactly call him up and ask if he has any rentals.  Chances are, he might have sold the others too since he was close to retirement.  

I seemed to have restless sleep.  Kept getting up and going back to sleep every couple of hours.  Or using the bathroom. I was maybe too hydrated from the day.  Someone was standing on my dresser meowing for her cream cheese at a little bit after 5 so I'm her bitch and got it for her.  I stayed awake for awhile and maybe snoozed for about 15 minutes. I didn't care.  Something nice about a Sunday morning.  Way better than a Sunday night.

I'm not racked with anxiety yet about the rental situation.  I am hoping he gives us a pass until next year and by that I don't mean January.  I am hoping that some laws get passed regarding renters.  I really am shocked at how bad the situation is.  It's everywhere.  It's not just us.

I think of this old movie I saw where a judge made Joe Pesci live in one of his properties because he was a slum lord.  That would be a lovely thing to do to the people that have rentals who don't take care of them.  Wishful thinking.

I will probably look for things to get rid of on eBay and make a few dollars today.  I told my mom I would be willing to go to a one bedroom if it means that we have a roof over our head.  I don't care if I sleep on an air mattress.  As long as I got my thirty pillows to help with my neck.

I'm joking. I only sleep with about 20.

Have a good day good humans.  


Comments

Popular posts from this blog

Way Past My Bedtime

The Dark Things

So Here's the Weekend