Humor is subjective not vulgar
I was looking at old Facebook memories and I found out that stood out. I don't do much social media because people are insane and it's really become kind of depressing.
I was upset that day. Someone had found a picture of a guy in a thong partying as part of the research she had to do on a case and she showed it to some of us and said that's my new boyfriend. It was the laugh of the day. Not for me. I just ignored it. I know, why didn't I report it? It was a reminder why I didn't miss that aspect of my daily life.
Shortly before the pandemic hit, we had a White Elephant gift exchange, 2nd year in a row. I suspected that people were cheating because they knew which gifts to choose. I threw in a DVD of Columbo that my mom gave me. I got something different.
Big red underwear and a toilet cleaning kit. Oh I wanted to die and thought I was from embarrassment. I said this is vulgar. I really wanted to walk out. I got up and threw it in the garage and someone pulled it out and said I had to keep it. I said No I don't. It's disgusting.
It took me a moment to figure out the connection between the red underwear and the toilet cleaning kit. Many months earlier, I found some underwear hanging in a bathroom stall that was drenched in period blood. Sigh. I told others what had happened. It was so much and the bathroom looked like a scene out of a horror movie. While one part of me had sympathy for someone having a horrible time of the month, I thought, haven't you heard of a paper towel?
I knew who put the gift in the gift exchange and I called them out for how clever they were. She did not expect me to figure it out. She was not happy. She could have gotten into trouble and pretty much everyone should have done it.
I just don't find that stuff funny. I have a sense of humor but putting in a gift like that was disgusting. And to the woman that made fun of me and said that I would be dating the thong boyfriend? How would she have liked it if I made fun of her husband cheating and driving drunk all the time? I don't comment on relationships.
I don't dislike people. I just don't miss people disrespecting me all the time and being expected to take it.
Comments
Post a Comment