Diagnosing Mean Girls and the Case of the Mistaken Turkey

I haven't felt like writing much.  My mind feels blank some days.  I might be having a bout of depression and just feeling blocked.  I don't know if it's the time of year where I have to push myself harder.  I feel like I'm losing steam most days.

Ok, I got the sad part out.  Onto the new topics.

As a kid, I remember vividly coming down to my basement after my mom had come from work and she was sitting on a chair crying.  I asked her if she was ok and she wasn't.  She made pizza ovens and well, the women weren't nice.  She was a good worker and a hard worker.  She was always subjected to bullying.  I hated that.  I knew about it and it would be a lifelong theme for me.  

It seems like it was the same situation at this food pantry she was going to.  Initially, everyone seemed so nice and was generous with her, making her feel overwhelmed by their kindness.  I don't know what's changed but it seems like it's in the last couple of months, there's been one woman who has been mean or curt with her.  She felt like crying when I picked her up this last week.  We also got a bad turkey from the place.  More on that later in this post.

She spent the last couple of days lamenting about why people don't like her.  Oh this makes me so sad and I understand why she asks that question.  People don't dislike her.  People are assholes.  Not all, but I kind of suspect this woman just seems to be a bitch that's been giving her a hard time.  She says thank you, please and shows her appreciation.  Kindness can sometimes make you a target for people like this woman.  My mom doesn't want to go back and I'm ok with that.  I hated that she went in the first place and I really hate that someone made her feel bad.  

I got a request to fill out feedback on the diva on Wednesday.  It'll be review time in January. Great.  It was only two questions and I kept it very kind.  I don't need any trouble and I know I won't be given the same courtesy if she gets asked about me.

Yeah, it bugs me that she treats me like garbage.  My mom commented on how nice I was when I trained her.  I keep my distance.  I think I was nice to you and now you act shitty towards me?  What did I do?  Nothing.  My kindness pisses you off, diva.  She has hitched herself to the lurker and Regina.  It really sucks that happened. I was hoping that we could have a friendly relationship but I have to protect myself and I hate that.  She's someone who wants to make a name for herself and be important.  Stepping on the person who helped you is not a good look, diva.  

We actually got a turkey breast from Pick n' Save so we had two turkeys.  The mean woman at the food pantry gave my mom a turkey that was kind of defrosting as we carried it to the car.  It didn't seem like it should be that way.  

My mom wanted it out of the fridge but not in our garbage can.  Sigh.  I had set myself on the mission to dispose of the turkey yesterday morning.  I wrapped more bags around it and I thought I'll find a place.  I was just going to go Pick n' Save and then drive over to the east side and do a morning walk.  

Because of the wind, the garbage cans were inside and I thought oh, who cares.  Nobody will see me.  I did run into a neighbor in the store and thought hope he didn't see me do that.  I drove off to get a good walk and take in Lake Michigan yesterday morning.  

My mom calls me to tell me that I took the wrong turkey. I took the turkey breast from Pick n' Save. I thought oh my god. I said I can go back and get it.  She said it's ok and hung up. I thought I'm going to go to the liquor store, go to a hotel and forget this day because she's going to be mad as hell at me. I can't believe I did that.  

I didn't speed back but I braved the freeway home and parked far away from the store so most people wouldn't see my walk of shame.  I thought it can't be covered in other garbage could it be?  Then I couldn't remember which garbage can.  I saw the liquor bottle and I thought I wished that was full.  I found the other garbage can and it wasn't covered with anything bad, maybe some juice.  Yes, I had the garbage can top off on the floor because I'm a stupid woman or feeling like one.  Yes, someone is still watching. I retrieved the mistaken turkey breast and got out of there.  

The bags had some type of red juice on them and I just whipped the bags off of them.  I thought how couldn't I know the difference?  My mom called to tell me that it was ok and I said I got it.  She then howled with laughter when I told her what I did.  She just about peed herself when I said I'm on video as well. I would have been if it was in the parking lot.  

If I knew that woman's home address, I would have whipped the bad turkey on her front lawn.  

At least we got a good laugh at my expense. I won't be going to that store for awhile on the weekend but hopefully nobody sees me during the week when I do go in and remember as the garbage lady.

We actually won't have turkey until Sunday.  At least we know it'll be the right turkey.

I'll save the story of why I walked around the same store with a garbage bag for another day.  I do have some shame. 

Not really.  My mom really laughed a lot.  It's ok.  Just a little embarrassing to know what I'm on video now. 

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

Way Past My Bedtime

The Dark Things

So Here's the Weekend